Bervin Hall Scholarship

The Bervin Hall Memorial Scholarship scholarship was founded in 2009 by the Colorado Chapter ASSP and is administered by the ASSP Foundation.  This scholarship is given in memory of Bervin Hall, an active member of Colorado ASSP who stressed the importance of education and giving back to the SH&E profession.


Bervin Hall


U.S. Army Rangers
Hunter Douglas
Pinnacol Assurance
Colorado ASSP Board Member
ASSP Region II ROC Parliamentarian

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Must be in an undergraduate (associate’s or bachelor’s) safety degree program
  • Must have completed at least 60 undergraduate semester hours if pursuing a bachelor’s degree
  • Must have completed at least 24 undergraduate semester hours if pursuing an associate’s degree
  • Both full-time and part part-time students are eligible
  • Must have GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • Two awards of $1000 each are granted annually
  • Priority will go to Colorado Chapter ASSP members, Colorado residents, ASSP Region II members (AZ, CO, ID, MT, NV, NM, UT, WY), then students residing in ASSP Region II.
  • Application Opening: September 1, 2015
  • Application Deadline: December 1, 2015

Contact the Colorado Chapter ASSP or the ASSP Foundation for more details.

2015 Recipient: Joshua Zobell
University: Brigham Young University
Degree Program: Public Health, Environmental/Occupational Health Emphasis
Amount: $1,000

2014 Recipient: Kevin Haughn
University: Trinidad Community College
Degree Program: Occupational Health and Safety Technology
Amount: $1,000

2013 Recipient: Adam Hofman
University: Oklahoma State University
Degree Program: Fire Protection Safety Technology
Amount: $1,000

2012 Recipient: DJ Murdock
University: Brigham Young University-Idaho
Degree Program: Occupational Health & Safety
Amount: $1,000